B.O.E. Blue Jay Good News November, 2017
B.O.E. Blue Jay Good News November, 2017
Mary Kay Raether
Wednesday, December 06 2017

Monthly, Good News Jar items are submitted by staf members and are read at the regular meeting of the Board of Education.  November's Good News...

-Submitted by John Leadholm:    I would like to recognize Jenny Loether, the Nikolay MIddle School Office Manager.  Jenny has seamlessly transitioned into her job as our office manager.  Her professionalism, attention  to detail, and skills with working with staff, students, and parents has been outstanding.  We are extremely pleased to have someone of the caliber of Jenny working with us at the middle school.  Thank you Jenny for all that you do.

-Submitted by Keith Schneider:  On behalf of the CHS Radar Team, we'd like to recognize Laura Emrick for her extra efforts around student social and emotional needs.  Many students have indicated that Laura is that trusted adult students can go to for all types of support.  Laura takes the time to build relationships with students and that is evident from our student support surveys.

Our Radar Team continues to hear from students regarding the wonderful job Laura does in supporting students.  We, as a team, wanted to acknowledge her in this fashion.  Thanks Laura for all you do for students! CHS Radar Team: Denise Parker, Kay Olsen, Kristin Gowan, John Leadholm, Keith Schneider

-Larry Martin, Keith Schneider and Bernie Nikolay attended the MATC Manufacturing Month Breakfast in October as one of four local school districts.  College Admin. gave an overview of programs and services the college offers including manufacturing degree and diploma programs.  Madison College is trying to create a seamless pipeline into manufacturing beginning as early as middle school. 

- “The Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin (GCAW) is pleased to announce that Aubrie Pero and Hailee Sundquist of Cambridge High School are Academic All-State honorees for the recently concluded 2017 girls’ golf season, receiving a designation of Honors.  Students are nominated by GCAW member coaches if they meet the following criteria: 1) A cumulative grade point average of at least 3.25, 2) participation in at least 75% of their team’s varsity matches, and 3) are at least a sophomore in high school.   Aubrie and Hailee are student-athletes who serve as great examples to others, proving that academic and athletic successes are not mutually exclusive.  The coaches association is proud to announce that 305 girls from 97 high schools have been honored this year for maintaining high academic standards in the classroom while competing in varsity golf.  In fact, the average cumulative GPA of this year’s honorees is an exceptional 3.785. 

-Submitted by Rick Hardy:  Congratulations to the Math Team for a great result in the Capital Conference Fall Math Meet.  The Varsity team came in fourth place and the JV Team came in first place.  Mic Pichitkarn came in 3rd place overall in the individual JV competition and Ben Incha and Fritz Kaiser tied for 9th place out of almost 100 JV competitors.

-Submitted by Bernie Nikolay:  "Last night at the dinner table Evelyn, Colton, and Hunter were talking about Sam their bus driver. Nothing was negative; in fact it was the complete opposite. Sam says good morning to the kids when they get on the bus. Have a good night when they get off the bus. He always says hang on to the railing when going up and down the stairs. He doesn't start driving till all the kids are sitting. He is respectful, and as my kids say he is very compassionate about his job. I wanted to share this with you it warmed my heart and put a smile on my face. Colton decided he wanted to make Sam a Thank You card to show his appreciation."  Thank You, Mrs. Benson

-Submitted by Keith Schneider:  The CHS Academic Decathlon team has advanced to the regional level of competition in the Academic Decathlon competition.  We scored in the top 50 in the state to advance.  The next competition will be held on Friday, January 12, 2018.  Thanks to the following students:  Marcie Frey, Erin Dieckmann, Riley Stenjem, Allison Lund, Drew Haas, Jake Hellmich, Jacob Nottestad, Lilly Coutts, Dani Gratz, Killian Murray